• Faculty gathered at Gray House last week to celebrate faculty members who received promotions in 2003-04. Left to right: Gang Chen of mechanical engineering, who was promoted to full professor; Saman Amarasinghe of electrical engineering and computer science (EECS), promoted to associate professor with tenure; President Charles M. Vest; and David Perreault of EECS, and Arindam Dutta of architecture, both promoted to associate professor without tenure.

    Photo / Donna Coveney

    Full Screen

Faculty members awarded tenure

The Corporation's Executive Committee approved 16 faculty members for promotion to tenure on May 7. Individual photos and profiles, including any additional members of the faculty who receive tenure before the end of the academic year, will appear in a fall issue of MIT Tech Talk.

Those who received tenure are William H. Green Jr. of chemical engineering; Saman Amarasinghe, William Freeman and Tommi Jaakkola of electrical engineering and computer science; Angela Belcher of materials science and engineering; Daniel Fox and Norvin Richards III of linguistics and philosophy; Thomas DeFrantz of music and theater arts; Edward Steinfeld of political science; Helen Lee of writing and humanistic studies; Kristin Forbes and Roberto Rigobon of the Sloan School of management; Angelika Amon of biology; H. Sebastian Seung of brain and cognitive sciences (promoted to full professor with tenure); and John M.W. Bush and Daniel A. Spielman of mathematics.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 2, 2004 (download PDF).

Topics: Faculty


Back to the top