• MIT's winning Design/Build/Fly aero-astro team dethroned Oklahoma State in April. Team members were, back row, from left: Brandon Suarez '09, David Sanchez '09, George Kiwada G and Adam Woodworth '07; front row, from left: Nil Armar G, Ryan Castonia '09, Carl Engel '07 and Fuzhou Hu '09.

    Photo courtesy / Aero-Astro

    Full Screen

Aeronautics and astronautics awards

James Means Award--for excellence in space systems engineering
- Alexandra E. Coso 2007, Sugar Hill, GA

Henry Webb Salisbury Award--for superior academic performance by a Course XVI graduating senior
- Sho Sato 2007, NerimaKu Tokyo, Japan
- Dawn D. Wheeler 2007, West Chester, PA

Apollo Program Prize--for the best student research project on the topic of humans in space
- Bradley T. Holschuh 2007, Moorland, MN

Andrew J. Morsa Prize--for ingenuity and initiative in applying computers to the field of aeronautics and astronautics
- Jacob G. Katz 2007, Bonners Ferry, IN, and Cristina M. Wilcox 2007, Cedar Hill, TX
- Mikel J. Graham 2008, Cleveland, OH, and Ruijie He 2007, Singapore

Leaders for Manufacturing Undergraduate Prize--awarded to students who have used their project to directly deal with engineering issues related to the interaction among manufacturing processes
- Mario R. Martinez 2007, Hollywood, FL
- Rachel Ellman 2007, Boonton Township, NJ, and Nicki L. Lehrer 2007, Rockville, MD

United Technologies Corp. Prize--for achievement in the design, construction, execution, and reporting of an undergraduate experimental project
- Carl J. Engel 2007, Clear Lake, WI
- Adam J. Woodworth 2007, Plymouth, MA
- Terrence M. McKenna 2007, Brooklyn, NY
- Yonas M. Tesfaye 2007, Northridge, CA

Admiral Luis de Florez Prize--for original thinking or ingenuity, as demonstrated by the individual effort of the student
- Nestor I. Lara 2007, Burbank, IL
- Chad E. Lieberman 2007, Princeton, NJ
- Bernard J. Michini 2007, Plymouth Meeting, PA
- Sean M. Torrez 2007, Corrales, NM

Aero-Astro Teaching Assistantship Award--for a teaching assistant who has demonstrated conspicuous dedication and skill in helping fulfill an undergraduate or graduate subject's educational objectives
- Sho Sato G, NerimaKu Tokyo, Japan
- Bradley T. Holschuh 2007, Moorhead, MN

Lockheed Martin Award for Excellence in Systems Engineering Teamwork--for an undergraduate team exhibiting a superior level of accomplishment in aerospace design
- Nii A. Armar G, Fairfax, VA, Ryan W. Castonia 2009, Whitehall, MI, Carl J. Engel 2007, Clear Lake, WI, Fuzhou Hu 2009, Cary, NC, George Ford Kiwada G, Raleigh, NC, David A. Sanchez 2009, Santa Maria, CA, Brandon H. Suarez 2009, Tampa, FL, and Adam J. Woodworth 2007, Plymouth, MA

David J. Shapiro Memorial Award--for undergraduate students to pursue special aeronautical projects and/or to support foreign travel
- Ryan W. Castonia 2009, Whitehall, MI
- Christine Fanchiang 2007, San Bruno, CA

Yngve Raustein Award--for a unified engineering student who best exemplifies the spirit of Yngve Raustein and to recognize significant achievement in unified engineering
- Ryan W. Castonia 2009, Whitehall, MI

Rene H. Miller Prize--for the best piece of work in systems engineering
- Simon Nolet G, Drummondville, Quebec, Canada

AIAA Undergraduate Teaching Award
- Professor Mark Drela

AIAA Undergraduate Advising Award
- Col. John E. Keesee

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2007 (download PDF).

Topics: Aeronautical and astronautical engineering, Awards, honors and fellowships


Back to the top