• Department of Biology award winners, from left to right, Grace Lee, Nimisha Schneider, Jaclyn Ho, Samantha Burke, Shuo Han, Tristan Kooistra, Amudha Panneerselvam, Jocelyn Chin, Adelaide Fuller, Sunny Lou, and Ryan Flynn.  

    Photo / MacKenzie Outlund

    Full Screen

Biology awards

John L. Asinari Award--For outstanding research in the field of life sciences
- Adelaide Fuller '09, Weybridge, Vt.
- Jaclyn Ho '09, Chappaqua, N.Y.
- Sunny Lou '09, Wayland, Mass.
- Nimisha Schneider '09, Brookline, Mass.
- Shuo Han '09, Diamond Bar, Calif.

Gene Brown Prize--For outstanding academic scholarship and demonstrated excellence as a teaching assistant in 7.02
- Grace Lee '09, Potomac, Md.

Susan Hockfield Prize in Life Sciences--For a third-year MIT undergraduate student in any area of the life sciences who has demonstrated both exceptional performance and promise for graduate study and research
- Amudha Panneerselvam '10, Cranston, R.I.

Ned Holt Prize--For demonstrated excellence in scholarship as well as service to the MIT community through outstanding teaching in 7.012, 7.013, 7.014 and 7.02
- Samantha Burke '09, Tewksbury, Mass.

Salvador E. Luria Prize--For excellent scholarship and research of publication quality
- Jocelyn Chin '09, Los Altos, Calif.
- Merck Prize-For outstanding research and academic performance in biophysical or bioinformatics sciences
- Ryan Flynn '10, Mount Laurel, N.J.

Whitehead Prize--For outstanding promise for a career in biological research through academic scholarship as well as contributions to research and the MIT community
- Tristan Kooistra '09, Campobello, S.C.

Biology Undergraduate Symposium Speakers 2009--These students were nominated by faculty and selected to speak and present their research at the Biology Undergraduate Symposium in January 2009
- Guo-Liang Chew '10, Singapore
- Christine Chin '09, Fayetteville, N.Y.
- Ryan Flynn '10, Mount Laurel, N.J.
- Tristan Kooistra '09, Campobello, S.C.
- Cassie Liu '10, Tomball, Texas
- Amudha Panneerselvam '10, Cranston, R.I.
- Lauren Rodda '11, Vienna, Va.
- Dima Ter-Ovanesyan '10, Newton, Mass.
- Clara Yuan '09, Campbell, Calif.
- Erica Young '09, Sharon, Mass.
- MaryAnn Zhang '09, Collegeville, Pa.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 2009 (download PDF).

Topics: Bioengineering and biotechnology, Awards, honors and fellowships


Back to the top