• Charles and Holly Housman Awardees Angelica Osorno, Chris Kottke and Chris Evans.

    Courtesy / Department of Mathematics

    Full Screen
  • Charles and Jennifer Johnson Prize recipient Yanki Lekili

    Courtesy / Department of Mathematics

    Full Screen
  • Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman: Doris Dobi, left, (honorable mention) and Maria Monks (prize recipient). Monks was also selected as a 2009 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar.

    Courtesy / Department of Mathematics

    Full Screen

Mathematics awards

The Jon A. Bucsela Prize in Mathematics--For distinguished scholastic achievement, professional promise and enthusiasm for mathematics
- Hansheng Diao '09, Shanghai, China
- Ruitian Lang '09, Beijing, China

Alice T. Schafer Prize--For excellence in mathematics by an undergraduate woman in mathematics, given by the Association For Women in Mathematics
- Maria Monks '10, Hazleton, Pa.
- Honorable mention: Doris Dobi '09, Philadelphia, Pa.

The Charles and Holly Housman Award for Excellence in Teaching, supported by the Charles L. and Holly Housman Fund-Presented to graduate student(s) in mathematics for their skill and dedication in undergraduate teaching
- Chris Evans G, Berkeley, Calif.
- Chris Kottke G, Boulder, Colo.
- Michael Manapat G, San Francisco, Calif.
- Angelica Osorno G, Bogota, Colombia

The Charles W. and Jennifer C. Johnson Prize, established by the support of Charles (BE '55) and Jennifer Johnson-Given to graduate student(s) in mathematics for an outstanding paper accepted for publication in a major journal
- Yanki Lekili, doctoral candidate, Izmir, Turkey, "Wrinkled fibrations on near-symplectic manifolds," - Geometry & Topology, Vol. 13, 2009

The Sixty-Ninth William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition--The MIT Putnam team placed third
- Qingchun Ren '10, Tianjin, China
- Xuancheng Shao '09, Shanghai, China
- Yufei Zhao '10, Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Putnam Fellows: Included two (out of a total of five) from MIT
- Bohua Zhan '11, Greensboro, N.C.
- Yufei Zhao '10, Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship--Given to students who exhibit an outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural science, or those engineering disciplines that contribute significantly to the technological advances of the United States
- Maria Monks '10, Hazleton, Pa.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 2009 (download PDF).

Topics: Mathematics, Awards, honors and fellowships


Back to the top