• The Wardlaw couple at entrance of basement dugout home.

    Photo by Dorthea Lange (Library of Congress)

    Full Screen

Anne Whiston Spirn books win multiple awards

'Daring to Look' and 'The Granite Garden' honored

Anne Whiston Spirn’s recent book Daring to Look
(University of Chicago Press, 2008) has won the 2009 Great Places Book
Award from the Environmental Design Research Association, for advancing
critical understanding of place and helping foster the design of
exceptional environments.

It has also won the 2009 John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize from the
Foundation for Landscape Studies — a prize that recognizes books ‘that
break new ground in method or interpretation’ — and it won an Honorable
Mention in the 2009 PROSE Awards from the American Association of
Publishers for excellence in scholarship.

Meanwhile, another of Spirn’s books, The Granite Garden: Urban Nature and Human Design
(Basic Books,1984), has been recognized by the American Planning
Association as one of the past century’s ‘100 Essential Books of

Read more here.

Topics: Architecture, Arts, Books and authors, Photography



Back to the top