• From left to right: Sophie Vandebroek; Subra Suresh; Xerox-MIT Fellows Rhonda Jordan (ESD), Melissa Smith (MSE), Biliana Kaneva (EECS), Amy Mueller (CEE), and Greg Little (EECS); and Vice President James R. Larson, Xerox Research Center, Webster, NY.

    Photo: Jesus del Alamo

    Full Screen

2009-10 Xerox-MIT fellows celebrated

Fellowship program was established to support top-tier engineering students — especially women and other groups traditionally underrepresented

The third cohort of Xerox-MIT Fellows were honored at a dinner
co-hosted on Nov. 23, 2009, by Xerox CTO Sophie Vandebroek and MIT
Dean of Engineering Subra Suresh.

The fellowship program was
established in 2007 by Xerox to support top-tier students in the School
of Engineering — especially women and other groups traditionally
underrepresented in engineering — who are focused on research in such
areas as green technologies, imaging and smart-document technology,
nanotechnology and systems design.

The program connects students with
Xerox professionals, who serve as mentors during the fellowship year;
the students are also invited to spend the summer working at one of
Xerox's four research centers worldwide.

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships, Education, teaching, academics, Students


Back to the top