• From left to right: Karen Shirer, Kathy Simons, Tom McKrell, Leslie Regan, Ron Wiken, Donna Kaufman, Agnes Chow, Patty Glidden, Patricia Eames, David Schultz, Beth Milnes, Subra Suresh, Bill Maloney, and Tom Lohman.

    Photo: L. Barry Hetherington

    Full Screen

School of Engineering honors staff at 10th Infinite Mile Awards ceremony

The MIT School of Engineering hosted its 10th annual Infinite Mile Awards ceremony on April 28 to recognize and reward members of the school's administrative staff, support staff, service staff and sponsored research staff. The awards support the Institute’s and the school’s objectives for excellence.

Since their inception in 2001, the School of Engineering’s Infinite Mile Awards have been presented to more than 150 staff members in the school. Nominations for Infinite Mile Awards are made by department heads and laboratory directors in the School of Engineering. They are presented to individuals and teams whose work is of the highest quality. They stand out because of their high level of commitment and because of the enormous energy and enthusiasm they bring to their work.

This year, Ron Wiken was the sole recipient of the Infinite Mile Award for Sustained Excellence due to his quality of work and commitment in addition to having worked at the Institute for 20 or more years.

2010 recipients of Infinite Mile Awards for Excellence:

  • Patricia Eames
  • Patty Glidden
  • Donna Kaufman
  • Tom McKrell
  • Beth Milnes
  • David Schultz
  • Karen Shirer
  • Kathy Simons
  • Ron Wiken

Infinite Mile Awards for Team Excellence: Microsystems Technology Laboratories

  • Mike Hobbs, Tom Lohman and Bill Maloney

Ellen J. Mandigo Award for Outstanding Service:

The Ellen J. Mandigo Award was established in 2009 to recognize staff who have demonstrated, over an extended period of time, the qualities Ms. Mandingo valued and possessed in great abundance during her long career at MIT: intelligence, skill, hard work and dedication to the Institute. This award is made possible by a bequest from Ms. Mandigo, a member of the engineering community at MIT for nearly five decades, who passed away in 2005.

2010 Ellen J. Mandigo Award recipients:

  • Agnes Chow
  • Leslie Regan

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships, Staff

Back to the top