• Susan Lindquist receives her National Medal of Science from President Barack Obama.

    Photo: Ryan K. Morris Photography, National Science and Technology Medals Foundation

    Full Screen

Lindquist receives National Medal of Science

President Obama presents nation’s top science awards at White House ceremony Wednesday.

President Barack Obama on Wednesday presented Susan Lindquist with the National Medal of Science, the nation's highest science honor, during a White House ceremony.

Lindquist, a member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and an MIT biology professor, received the award “for her studies of protein folding, demonstrating that alternative protein conformations and aggregations can have profound and unexpected biological influences, facilitating insights in fields as wide-ranging as human disease, evolution, and biomaterials.”

This year's National Medal of Science winners are presented with their awards during a ceremony at the White House.
Video: White House

The National Medal of Science, which is awarded annually, was established by Congress in 1959 as a presidential award honoring those who have made “outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences."

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships, Biology, Faculty, Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI), National relations and service, President Obama, Whitehead Institute


Back to the top