• Professor of Biology Angelika Amon, left, and Barbara Imperiali, the Class of 1922 Professor of Chemistry, have been named members of the NAS.

    Full Screen

Two from MIT elected to National Academy of Sciences

Two MIT faculty members are among the 72 newly elected members and 18 foreign associates of the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research, the NAS announced today.

Election to the NAS — a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to advancing science and its use for the general welfare — is considered a top honor for those in the science and engineering fields. Established in 1863, the NAS acts as an official advisor to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

The new NAS members from MIT are Professor of Biology Angelika Amon, a member of the David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, and Barbara Imperiali PhD ’83, the Class of 1922 Professor of Chemistry and a professor of biology.

Amon and Imperiali join the 160 members of the MIT community who have been elected to the NAS thus far — of whom about 120 are still active in the intellectual life of MIT.

In addition to Imperiali, several MIT alumni were elected. They include Alex Bell ’64, ScD ’67, Roger Cone PhD ’86, Steven Koonin PhD ’75, Douglas Koshland PhD ’82, Kenneth Rogoff PhD ’80 and Kevin Struhl ’74, SM ’74

The election brings the total active number of NAS members to 2,097, with 409 active, non-voting foreign associates.

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships, Faculty


Back to the top