• From left, MIT President L. Rafael Reif and his wife, Christine; Deshpande Center founders Jaishree and Desh Deshpande; and Deshpande Center Faculty Director Charles Cooney.

    Photo: Russ Campbell

    Full Screen

Deshpande Center celebrates 10 years of innovation

Holds gala event for supporters, administrators, students, faculty and more.

The Deshpande Center for Technological Innovation celebrated its 10 years with a gala event on Oct. 23.

In attendance were MIT President L. Rafael Reif; Ian A. Waitz, dean of the School of Engineering; Marc Kastner, dean of the School of Science; MIT faculty, students and supporters who have been engaged with the center over the past decade.

The evening kicked off with a showcase featuring products from many of the Deshpande Center's spin-out companies. President Reif thanked Desh and Jaishree Deshpande for their generosity and vision in establishing the center and presented them with a Deshpande Center Visionary award.

In addition, “Ten-Year Catalyst” awards were presented to Jamie Goldstein, Mark Gorenberg, Steve Kelly, Stan Reiss and Eric Swanson, in recognition of their dedication and contributions to the center. Catalysts are volunteers who assist in grant reviews and provide mentoring to Deshpande Center projects.

Since its inception in 2002, the Deshpande Center has helped bring more than 90 research projects toward practical commercial application, offering $11 million in grants and resulting in 27 spin-out companies.

Topics: Deshpande Center, Special events and guest speakers, Community, Faculty, Students, Innovation and Entrepreneurship (I&E), Technology


Back to the top